How to make good remote work life

·

2 min read

How to make good remote work life

As a product manager, I have usually work at home for a year. My office is one and a half hour from my house. I go to the office once in two months when I need to do something.

I like remote work because I don’t have to get to office and I can save my time and effort since I don't need to commute. Beside, I can stay with my family longer.

From a year of my remote work experience, I ensure some practices to make it comfortable. Here are the list.

1.Buying large screen displays.

I use a laptop computer and two external displays 22inch and 20inch connected with it. Large display will improve your productivity and I recommend you to choose a monitor-arm like the image below. It would help your desk clean.

upliftdesk.com/crestview-align-dual-monitor..

2.Buying a good chair with headrest.

Second is also equipment. Good chair designed for office or gaming will reduce your fatigue.

I bought the following chair that equipped with headrest. I can take a short nap and relax.

The chair with headrest is a little expensive, but I strongly recommend it.

3.Work out for 30 minutes every day

Third is habit to keep better condition. After lunch or dinner, I do work out such us walking , cycling. On holiday , I enjoy playing football with my children in the park.

4 Take a break for short interval.

During remote work when nobody ask me anything , I tend to continue focus to one task for a few hours . It made me tired more than I have a break per 30 minutes or 1 hour. I heard it was said as over concentration. If your remote work is a few days ,It is not problem. But to continue remote work for a long time, I think to avoid over concentration is very important.

5 Take chatting with colleague and family.

I think Video meeting improve our productivity. We can share materials easy and not need to move between meeting room. But, I feel that chatting decreases the face to face meeting. At the video meeting if all agenda finished , meeting tend to end immediately. So ,there are no time to talk about each family , hobby , condition, last night's TV program.

From chatting and small talk, we can know personality and condition. It's very important but it will not be included in agenda of meeting. Aside from meeting , we need to make an opportunity to talk something except business.

I would like to continue to remote work with fun.