My first TOEIC Speaking & Writing TEST

My first TOEIC Speaking & Writing TEST

·

2 min read

On 5 Dec, I took TOEIC Speaking&Writing TEST for the first time. I felt it’s difficult for my English ability. But,I thought using this test would enable me to learn more efficiently.

TOEIC Speaking and Writing TEST consists of 11 questions of speaking and 8 questions of writing. During the test, we use computer and headset. In speaking section while reading displayed guide such as pictures and tables we need to speak answers to the mic of a headset.

In the writing section, we have to type the sentences of answer about displayed questions using the keyboard.

Testing time is about an hour.

For the three reasons below,I thought this test is good for learning speaking skill.

1. The realistic situations

There are many realistic situation questions like the following.

Answering to the phone inquiries by reading some tables and figures. After hearing a discussion about some problem, confirm the problem and suggest solutions. Writing the reply to the email about like inquiries and instructions.

2. Practical reaction speed

Especially in the speaking section, response speed is required to answer. It was most difficult point of this test for me. Answering the short question like the following in 15 seconds after 3 second preparation time.

Is there a sports gym in your area or near your office?

After reading the 45 second diagrams or tables like following:

I need to answer to inquiry by phone as the staff of this seminar. Each answer has to within 15 seconds and start speaking 3 seconds after listening to the question.

3. Writing sentence volume

At the last question of the writing section, we need to write an essay that contains 300 words.And I need to finish writing in 30 minutes.I thought 300 words is too much for a beginner of English learning. To pass this question,Training about writing large article would be needed.

For these reasons, I thought the TOEIC Speaking and Writing Test is very effective to improve my English skill. After studying and training enough, I’m going to try to take this examination again.