Practical learning process of English is similar to that of Programming Language.

Practical learning process of English is similar to that of Programming Language.

·

2 min read

I’ve been studying English for a few years. And I’m interested in the learning process.

In this article, I want to talk about a learning process of English that a YouTuber who can speak multiple languages introduces. And I compare it to the learning process of a programming language.

Following steps are a summary of her process.

  • Step.1 Choose what to watch. Netflix or youtube or tv shows are also ok as long as it's in English.

  • Step.2 Watch it and try to understand with subtitles

  • Step.3 Watch videos without subtitles

  • Step.4 Try to explain it to yourself in English by your own words

  • Step.5 Watch videos without subtitles again that speeded up to 1.25 to 1.5 and more

  • Step.6 Continue these steps for a year

It’s a very practical approach and using youtube videos is very fun.

She mentioned some considerations about this approach. First, it’s not for a total beginner of English. At least a2 level is recommended. Second, it isn't an evidence based approach so she doesn't know if everyone can learn by it and it will not take correct grammar skills.

In my case, I chose youtube videos about technology and the internet. Because of my motivation to learn new technology, I could continue this English learning without any stress and patience.

Since I watched this video, I stopped studying English for examinations like TOEIC and have been feeling that my English skill is improving steadily.

I can use some programming languages such as JavaScript, Java, SQL and Python. Compared to the learning process of programming languages, first I usually learn syntax and read source codes that other people made. After that, I start coding by using these codes as reference.

I could find many things in common. But, I'm feeling that learning English is much harder than programming. English would need more time to learn and would be worth the challenge for me.